Free month trial with Trade100 ClubWhat is it?

What is Trade100 Club? We are rebuilding 100 UK trade websites in full, fully SEO optimised, for free. Members also get a 30-day trial of all our tools, including review automation and a win-back review campaign for past customers.

Book a call with Tom
Growth Bull
Growth Bull vs Checkatrade

Checkatrade review (2026): what membership costs, what the 12-month contract means, and a cheaper way to get the reviews

Checkatrade is the UK's biggest trade directory, owned by Brookfield through HomeServe, with a free profile, an Approved plan at £30 a month and a Growth plan from £59 a month, all on 12-month terms. It has 87,929 Trustpilot reviews at 4.7, mostly from homeowners. Growth Bull is £69 a month, no contract, and works on your Google reviews rather than a directory listing.

Written by , founder of Growth Bull

9 min read Prices checked October 2026

Checkatrade review, membership cost and the 12-month contract compared with Growth Bull, Growth Bull blog

Checkatrade is the UK's best-known trade directory. Homeowners search it, tradespeople pay to be listed on it, and in 2026 it sells three plans: a Free profile, Approved at £30 a month and Growth from £59 a month, with paid plans on 12-month terms. It has 87,929 reviews on Trustpilot at 4.7, and its homepage claims more than six million reviews of its members.

Growth Bull is not a directory. It is £69 a month of software that gets Google reviews from every paid invoice and shows where you rank, so the enquiries that come free from Google grow. This review is for the plumber, electrician or builder deciding whether a directory contract is the right first spend, and for the Checkatrade member wondering what to run alongside it.

Written by Tom Riley, founder of Growth Bull. Where Checkatrade is the better choice, we say so. Facts and prices checked 1 October 2026.

For the other directories and lead platforms, see the best lead generation for tradesmen in the UK compared, and for the pay-per-lead alternative, our MyBuilder review.

The short answer

Growth Bull vs Checkatrade

Checkatrade is the directory most UK homeowners have heard of, and a Growth membership can fill a diary if you are in a trade and postcode where its leads flow, while Growth Bull is a £69 a month tool that builds the Google reviews customers read before they ring anyone, directory or not.

Choose Growth Bull if

you want more Google reviews and a clear view of your map and search rankings for a fixed monthly price, with no 12-month contract.

Starting price: £69/mo, no contract

Choose Checkatrade if

you want to be listed where homeowners already search, you can commit to 12 months, and you have checked what your plan will actually cost for your trade and area.

Starting price: £30 to £59+/mo, 12 months

Side by side

What each company says about itself, on its own website, next to ours.

Homepages
Checkatrade homepage in October 2026, headed Find a tradesperson ready to help you, with Checked trades, 6M+ real reviews and £1,000 guarantee badges
Screenshot of Checkatrade's website, captured 1 October 2026
Growth Bull homepage in October 2026, headed with the Review Builder promise of more Google reviews from every paid invoice
Growth Bull, captured 1 October 2026

Both screenshots show the public websites as they looked on 1 October 2026. The Checkatrade screenshot belongs to Checkatrade and is shown here for a fair, like-for-like comparison.

Pricing pages
Checkatrade join pricing page in October 2026, headed Be the trusted pick, with a first month free banner and Free, Approved and Growth plan cards
Screenshot of Checkatrade's website, captured 1 October 2026
Growth Bull pricing page in October 2026, showing Review Builder at £69 a month and Complete Growth at £129 a month with a 7-day free trial
Growth Bull, captured 1 October 2026

Both screenshots show the public websites as they looked on 1 October 2026. The Checkatrade screenshot belongs to Checkatrade and is shown here for a fair, like-for-like comparison.

At a glance

Growth Bull ahead: 3Checkatrade ahead: 2Level: 3

What you getGrowth BullCheckatrade
What you are buyingSoftware: review requests, Rank Map, Keyword Tracker, AI VisibilityA vetted directory listing, matched leads and job tools
Gets new Google reviews automaticallyYes, one text and one email after every paid invoiceNo; reviews are collected on Checkatrade's own site
Sends you leadsNo; it grows the free enquiries from GoogleYes, on the Growth plan, volume by plan
Map and search rank trackingYes, Rank Map and Keyword Tracker on Complete GrowthNot offered
Published priceReview Builder £69 a month, Complete Growth £129 a monthFree £0; Approved £30 a month; Growth from £59 a month; VAT not stated
CommitmentNone, 7-day free trial, cancel any month12-month fixed memberships on paid plans
Public reviewsGrowth Bull is new; see the live examples on our siteTrustpilot 4.7 from 87,929 reviews
CompanyUK, prices in pounds and dollarsVetted Limited, London, incorporated 2001; founded 1998

The tick marks the stronger option on that row. Prices per month, checked 1 October 2026.

Who are Checkatrade and what do they sell?

Checkatrade is a trading name of Vetted Limited (company number 04285394), incorporated on 11 September 2001 and registered at City Point, Ropemaker Street in London. The business itself is older: Kevin Byrne set it up in Selsey, West Sussex, in September 1998 after rogue traders targeted the town. HomeServe bought a 40 percent stake in February 2017 and the rest later that year, and Brookfield acquired HomeServe in 2022, so Checkatrade is now part of a Brookfield-owned group. According to Wikipedia it has more than 53,000 member businesses. In September 2026 Checkatrade Group also bought the Rated People brand and website after Rated People Limited went into liquidation, and Rated People's help pages now send its former trades to Checkatrade.

What a tradesperson buys is a vetted listing, and on the paid plans, leads:

  • The Free plan is a profile page that collects and displays reviews but does not appear in Checkatrade search.
  • Approved, at £30 a month, adds the Checkatrade verification tick, one-click review requests, job management tools, a listing in the UK Trade Directory and partner discounts.
  • Growth, from £59 a month, adds lead volume options, direct booking by customers, between £100 and £200 of search credit, Checkatrade Pay (1.29 to 1.79 percent fees) and profile analytics.

New members complete an ID, address and documentation check before they get leads. At the time of writing the join page offers the first month free on fixed memberships.

What does Checkatrade cost and what is the commitment?

The published prices are £0, £30 a month and "from £59 a month". The pricing page does not state whether VAT is included, and the Growth price is the floor, not the typical figure: it depends on your trade, your postcode area and how many leads you choose to receive. Every paid plan is a 12-month fixed membership.

In our view the two things to pin down before you sign are the real monthly figure for your trade and area, and what happens if the leads do not come. Twelve months of a Growth plan is a four-figure commitment for most trades, and Trustpilot's own summary of the reviews mentions concerns about lead delivery against subscription costs. Get the number and the cancellation terms in writing.

What do customers say about Checkatrade?

Checkatrade has 87,929 reviews on Trustpilot with a TrustScore of 4.7: 85 percent five-star and 6 percent one-star. Read them carefully, though. Most are homeowners reviewing the tradesperson they found, not tradespeople reviewing the membership. A typical recent one reads "Very professional, great communication, Superb workmanship" (Gerald, Trustpilot, October 2026), which tells you Checkatrade's members do good work, not whether the membership paid for itself.

The one-star share is where the member reviews cluster, and the themes are lead quality and the cost of the contract. We could not retrieve a separate member-only score from public pages, so there is none here.

Who does Checkatrade suit?

Checkatrade suits a tradesperson who wants to be where homeowners already look, in a trade and area where the leads are plentiful, with the cash flow to carry a 12-month membership while it beds in. For emergency and small-job trades in busy towns, the directory can keep a diary full, and the vetting badge means something to older homeowners in particular.

It suits a new business or a specialist less well. If your area is thin on searches, or your work is large and infrequent, a year of membership can pass with few usable leads, and you are still bound by the contract. And whatever plan you are on, your Checkatrade reviews stay on Checkatrade; they do not help you on Google.

Where Growth Bull fits instead

Growth Bull works on the enquiries you do not pay for. Growth Bull's Review Builder connects to Xero, QuickBooks, Sage, FreeAgent, HubSpot or Pipedrive and sends one text and one email asking for a Google review after every paid invoice. Reviews are one of the main things Google uses to decide who appears in the map pack (the box of three businesses with a map at the top of Google), and they are what a homeowner reads before ringing, whether they found you on a directory or a search. It is £69 a month, with a 7-day free trial and no contract.

Complete Growth at £129 a month adds Rank Map, which scans a grid of points around your town and names who holds number one for your trade, so you can watch the map pack change as reviews come in. Keyword Tracker follows your search positions, and AI Visibility asks ChatGPT, Claude and Google's AI who they recommend in your town and shows whether you are named.

Growth Bull does not send you leads and makes no promise about job numbers. If you want matched leads from a directory, Checkatrade is the biggest one, and plenty of our customers run both: the directory for the leads, the tool for the Google reviews that make those leads ring.

Verdict

In our view, Checkatrade is the directory to pick if you are going to pay for one, because it has the searches and the name. The things to go in with eyes open on are the 12-month term and the gap between "from £59" and what your plan actually costs. Ask for both in writing.

If you would rather build the free enquiries first, Growth Bull's Review Builder is £69 a month with a 7-day free trial at growthbull.io/signup, or book a call with Tom and we will tell you honestly whether a directory is worth it for your trade.

Questions people ask

How much does Checkatrade cost in 2026?

Checkatrade's pricing page lists three plans: Free at £0 a month for a profile that collects reviews but does not appear in search, Approved at £30 a month, and Growth from £59 a month with lead volume options. Paid plans are 12-month memberships. The page does not say whether the prices include VAT, and the Growth price depends on your trade, postcode and the lead volume you pick, so the figure you are quoted can be a lot higher than £59 (checked October 2026).

Is Checkatrade worth it for tradesmen?

It depends on your trade and area. Checkatrade has the most searches of any UK trade directory and 87,929 Trustpilot reviews at 4.7, but most of those are homeowners reviewing tradespeople, not members reviewing the membership. Trustpilot's own summary mentions concerns about lead delivery against subscription costs. Ask for the monthly figure for your postcode and work out how many jobs it needs to pay for itself before you sign for 12 months.

Who owns Checkatrade?

Checkatrade is a trading name of Vetted Limited, company number 04285394, incorporated on 11 September 2001 and registered in London. It was founded in Selsey in 1998 by Kevin Byrne. HomeServe bought it in 2017, and Brookfield acquired HomeServe in 2022, so Checkatrade is now part of a Brookfield-owned group. In September 2026 Checkatrade Group also acquired the Rated People brand and website.

Can I cancel Checkatrade?

Paid memberships are sold on 12-month fixed terms according to Checkatrade's join pages, so cancelling mid-term is a question for your contract rather than a button. Read the terms before you sign. Growth Bull, by contrast, has no contract and is cancelled in one press.

Does Checkatrade help with Google reviews?

No. Reviews collected through Checkatrade live on your Checkatrade profile. They do not appear on your Google Business Profile, which is what shows in the map pack. If you want Google reviews, you need to ask customers separately, which is what Growth Bull's Review Builder does automatically after every paid invoice.

What is a cheaper alternative to Checkatrade?

If you do not want a 12-month directory contract, Growth Bull's Review Builder is £69 a month with a 7-day free trial and no contract. It asks every customer for a Google review after their invoice is paid, which lifts the free enquiries from Google. Complete Growth at £129 a month adds map, keyword and AI visibility tracking. Many trades run both: the directory for leads, the tool for the reviews.

Sources